🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: late contract and not activated time trac...
Page options
knight_ed
Community Member

late contract and not activated time tracker

Hi,

I'm new to Upwork.  First, I received a job offer and started receiving documents from client.  I started woking on the project for almost 3 hours when I found out that I have not yet given a contract to proceewd with the work. Eventually, I was given a contract.  however time of project was a bit earlier from the time of receipt of contract. Second, excited to work on my first project, I was not able to download the time tracker, therefore, I was already working on the project woith the time tracker.  The client was very kind to set the time to manual.  Being new to upwork, I feel that I am doing a dis service to the client by not being able to have the time I logged doing the project objectively.  Third, I was finding it difficult to make notes on my work progress and was not able to log diary of progress?  How do I go about this.  Fourth, I requested client to adjust rate from hourly to fixed rate.  I computed the hours I worked on the project plus estimated the additional time I need to work and pace myself to complete the project.  I donot know how the client felt.  I am writing to ask assistance and guidance from you and learn from this experience.  Thank you

1 REPLY 1
petra_r
Community Member

Edgar E wrote:

I donot know how the client felt.

The client is likely losing the will to live and is wishing he'd hired a professional

The above perfectly demonstrates why people should educate themselves how the site works before jumping oin making a mess of things.

1. The offer, once accepted, forms the contract.

2) It takes literally a minute to download the app.

3) It is impossible to change an hourly contract to fixed rate

Edgar E wrote:

I am writing to ask assistance and guidance from you

Add your previous hours as manual time and use the tracker for the rest.