🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » request for a rectified bill
Page options
marium_moin
Community Member

request for a rectified bill

Hi.
I am new to Upwork. Got my 1st job from a woman to rewrite a letter to her boss. I told her I would charge $19. It turned out to be 5500+ words. Upwork required me to time-track. I sent her the finished letter, telling her I am willing to make whatever changes she requires. Upwork based the bill on time tracking and sent her a $19 per hour bill which amounts to some $231. She has paused the contract, hurling abuses at me and asking for a refund. I have assured her that I only ask for $19 still. Please can the amount be rectified and a bill of $19 sent to her. There has been a misunderstanding. And the woman is being rude and calling me thief and my letter a horrible one. Please guide me what to do?

1 REPLY 1
prestonhunter
Community Member

You can not "request a rectified bill."

What you can do (instead) is become familiar with how Upwork works, and what your options are with regards to how to use the Upwork user interface.

re: "I told her I would charge $19. It turned out to be 5500+ words. Upwork required me to time-track."

You misunderstood some basic Upwork concepts.

Upwork DOES NOT require you to time-track.

If you want to charge somebody a FIXED AMOUNT, then you use a FIXED-PRICE contract.

It appears that you MIXED the fixed-price and hourly contract models.

Never mix.

If you wanted to charge $19, you could have set up a fixed-price contract.

ALSO: If you had an hourly contract, you could have billed for some time, and then TURNED OFF the time-tracker. That is NOT the intended use of an hourly contract. But if you HAD actually worked for a little while, and then earned $19 with your hourly billing, and then turned off the time-tracker, nobody would have known about it.