🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » Re: unverified payment method/contract
Page options
raintag
Community Member

unverified payment method/contract

Hi all!  I am new to Upwork and have submitted a few proposals.  Yesterday I received a message for an interview via Google and completed the interview/testing process required.  Additionally, I have received emails detailing the job description and am email stating I have been hired.  Details also included the electronic items needed (scanner/printers, etc) that would be shipped to me (guessing they will ask for my address soon too).    

Being new to this process I have concerns as no job/contract has come through via Upwork and I also noticed their payment method is unverified.  I would not like to begin work until these things happen-right?  He mentioned the company name at the end of the interview and via Google, it is a large corporation called *** Edited for Community Guidelines ***.  

If I do nothing until I receive a contract via Upwork, can they give me an unwanted review?  Do clients/freelancers meet via Upwork and work outside of the contract reim provided by Upwork.  Again, I am unfamiliar with the process.  

Any advice or suggestions are welcome!

Thank you again

Linsey

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
rverang
Community Member

8 REPLIES 8
petra_r
Community Member

It is the fake check scam, old as the hills.

If you have given them your address and bank info, expect your identity to be stolen.

There is no job, and no "equiptment" - they just want you to pay in a fake check into your account and then send them real money before you lose the money and likely your bank account.

One of the oldest, dumbest scams on the net.

No, they can not give you a review if you were not hired.

rverang
Community Member

You might want to read this => IS THIS A SCAM?? GOOGLE HANGOUT INTERVIEWs

and this => Beware of Google Hangout Scams

raintag
Community Member

Thank you.  I thought it was a scam but was not sure how to review worked.