🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » who can I work for ?
Page options
jiajiaa
Community Member

who can I work for ?

Hi, I am a Chinese international student live in the US (with F1 student Visa), currently, I don't have a work Visa in the US, but can I work for Chinese client on Upwork? Is there any other countries' client I can work without a country's working visa? Thank you!

6 REPLIES 6
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Jiajia Z wrote:

Hi, I am a Chinese international student live in the US (with F1 student Visa), currently, I don't have a work Visa in the US, but can I work for Chinese client on Upwork? Is there any other countries' client I can work without a country's working visa? Thank you!

I don't think that there is a country in the world in which you are allowed to work without the respective visa, work permit or residency.

You can't work for any client on upwork when you are in the US, chinese, american, or any other.  

Thank you for your reply. 

Do you mean even though I have a Chinese passport, I cannot work for clients in China through Upwork becuase I live in US?? 

I have one additional question. I am graduting in May. Right after my graduation I can apply for OPT (Optional Pratical Training) which will allow me to work in US. When I have OPT, can I work through Upwork?

Thank you!

Jiajia Z wrote:

Thank you for your reply. 

Do you mean even though I have a Chinese passport, I cannot work for clients in China through Upwork becuase I live in US?? 

I have one additional question. I am graduting in May. Right after my graduation I can apply for OPT (Optional Pratical Training) which will allow me to work in US. When I have OPT, can I work through Upwork?

Thank you!