🐈
» Groups » Upwork Engineering » Forum » Re: Future of C++ and C# developer
Page options
pabitrad
Community Member

Future of C++ and C# developer

I am C++ and C# developer with more than 20 years of experience. Also I am a full time freelancer for last 4 years. But I am not getting enough projects with C++ and C# skills. What should I learn from followings to get more projects?

-Machine learning

-Data SCience

-DevOps

-AWS

-Cloud computing

I tried to learn machine learing but I am not finding it easy although I have Mathematics background.

Please advice.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
caldus
Community Member

Hi Pabitra,

I used to be a C# and C++ dev myself. I still do some C# development but it is rare to come across those projects like you said. Several months ago I decided to learn a lot more about JavaScript/jQuery. Now I am much more successful on here again. The amount of JavaScript jobs is huge. I enjoy doing it too but sometimes I miss doing more C#.

I see this being the new trend and that C# jobs on here will decline further.

As far as C++, I do see some jobs for this as well. They often pay better too. I imagine the amount of freelancers who specialize in C++ on here is low so you could take advantage of that. Although it sounds like you’re not finding many C++ jobs here.

I think going forward web development will continue to be the most popular category on Upwork — knowing your way around CMS systems like WordPress will be extremely valuable too. I also started learning WordPress. I think this is the future really for better or worse. Although I do miss the more traditional days of programming.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
booksist
Community Member

@Pabitra Kumar D wrote:

...I tried to learn machine learing but I am not finding it easy although I have Mathematics background.

If it were easy, it wouldn't be much lucrative. I guess it is worth putting time.