cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No IP smtp server

Jamila H Member Since: Jun 19, 2016
1 of 8

Hi all

I am fairly new at this but want to set up a service based business for email marketing. 

The emails I send out will be on behalf of my clients and in bulk and ideally will not be flagged as spam so it would be through 'an outbound mail relay server'. The words are in parenthesis because it is just something I read with regards to ensuring the emails are not flagged as spam - it is not something I understand in its entirety yet (so any feedback appreciated!).

I should also be able to edit the 'from' field without having to set up permission from my clients. 

My question is:

What would I need in terms of hardware (do I need to buy a server?), software and expertise that I can outsource (network administrator?)

Thank you for any pointers

Regards

JC

Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
2 of 8

Your mail is gonna get thrown in the junk pile. It would probably be best to see if some of the common email vendors have an API you can use. Any open relay server is likely marked as spam and if it isn't it will be soon enough, so your email will get marked as spam.

Community Leader
Sharon L Member Since: Jun 14, 2015
3 of 8

If you are using PHP, you can easily edit the "from" field:

http://pear.php.net/manual/en/package.mail.mail.send.php

Community Guru
4 of 8

@Sharon L wrote:

Yeah, and the recipients platform will junk it as suspicious if he's trying to masquerade as a fake sender. He's trying to spam and all he will do is find that the server gets flagged and blocked. Host providers get really pissed when this happens and will kick you off their platform because it affects all of their customers. He'll be in a neverending search for a "clean" server until it gets junked and he'll have to start looking all over again. 

Community Guru
Tom R Member Since: Oct 29, 2015
5 of 8

@Jennifer M wrote:

@Sharon L wrote: