🐈
» Groups » Upwork Engineering » Forum » Upwork just isnt providing work for me anymor...
Page options
paul_smith_1
Community Member

Upwork just isnt providing work for me anymore

I have been working on upwork (odesk) for several years, when i first started out i was learning the basics of office macro building and wanted to take this road with my career on upwork, it started out slow naturally as a first timer but it slowly picked up to a point where i pulling several jobs a week. Most of these kind of jobs are just one time jobs that (dont tell anyone) usually i could finish in a matter of minutes or hours because i was pretty good at it and i was happy, my clients were 99% of the time happy everyone got what they wanted.

I landed a full time job with a client that i spent 18 months working with and basically forgot about upwork during that time, but still was being paid through upwork under the initial job post (probably a mistake and should have updated the contract properly). after this job ended i spent 3 months looking for a new job on upwork and didnt get a single reply to any of my applications, not a single one. since i lost my income my resources became limited and i lost my internet connection for a year.

During this time i decided to concentrate on raising my kids and supporting my partner in her career until a month or so ago when we decided to get an internet connection again in an attempt to continue my work (and my career) on upwork. I was happy that my rating was still above 90% after all this time and i tried to update my profile a bit and try to find some work again. 

This is what i have noticed so far........bare in mind im looking for office automation, data scrubbing, SQL and app dev on windows (im not interested in web or anything outside .NET)