🐈
» Forums » Support » Confused about VAT - Time sensitive Issue
Page options
67a78c8f
Community Member

Confused about VAT - Time sensitive Issue

Hi guys, 

I'm new to the platform and have a time-sensitive question. I'm about to acquire a long and big project. The client is an American company and my freelance business is registered in The Netherlands, so there should be no VAT tax. I just Googled how Upwork works with VAT and apparently I need to put my VAT number as my invoice is charged to Upwork? 

Should I wait with confirming the client before this is sorted? I sent a contract and I believe the client hasn't accepted it yet, meaning that I believe no deal is made. The project is on Tuesday and there's travel involved so the sooner I can confirm them the better. If I don't sort my VAT number out before the project is accepted do they charge an additional 21 percent above the pretty steep Upwrok percentage? 

And where can I add my VAT number? Another important bit of information is that I'm currently in Berlin, so I put my account location here, but my VAT number is for a freelance company based in The Netherlands, can this intervene with this process, and if so how to solve it? 

Sorry for the many questions, but as you can see I'm very confused and want to have this sorted as soon as I can. 

Thanks in advance. 

5 REPLIES 5
67a78c8f
Community Member

Hi fellow freelancers, 

I'm new to the platform and have a time-sensitive question. I'm about to acquire a long and big project. The client is an American company and my freelance business is registered in The Netherlands, so there should be no VAT tax. I just Googled how Upwork works with VAT and apparently I need to put my VAT number as my invoice is charged to Upwork?