🐈
» Groups » Upwork Engineering » Forum » Client asking for the impossible for next to ...
Page options
anderson_k504
Community Member

Client asking for the impossible for next to no money

Greetings,
First and foremost, I take responsibility for whatever part of this is my fault.  I have been doing this for 20 years and should know better by now.
EDITED TO ADD: I like this guy and I really do want to help him. I just think the situation is not good.

Client posted flat rate job saying that he wanted a site "moved to a new server" as a "test to see if the person knew what they were doing" and offered a small flat rate payment.  I negotiated him up slightly and agreed to help him.  I wasn't too worried because as I said, been doing this 20 years and pretty good at it by now.
Fast forward to reality, turns out this is a severely aging site with dozens and dozens of VERY LONG PERL CGI FILES, referencing text files and etc, a real nightmare, and it would take literally 100 hours or more to even begin to rewrite everything to work in a new environment.
I try talking to the client and even more concerning, his end client doesn't want to reengineer the site in PHP but wants to "fix" the PERL site.  Literally, this live site takes almost a minute to load.  I could go on but you get the picture.
How can I handle this situation without getting negative feedback - is it fair for him to refuse to pay me a dime because I couldn't do the impossible? I've put in over 25 hours on this and not seen a penny.
11 REPLIES 11
yitwail
Community Member