🐈
» Groups » Upwork Engineering » Forum » Re: How much should I charge for a specialty ...
Page options
billjobsinspace
Community Member

How much should I charge for a specialty in audio programming?

Hi everyone,

I've been freelancing on Upwork for nearly two years now— I specialize in music technology and app development, mostly focusing on music and audio applications. 

The main technology that I use is a library called libpd — which allows for very flexible and relatively easy to setup audio processing that can be embedded on nearly any platform. I have been told that I am one of the only freelancers on this website with experience using this tool. 

When I first got started on Upwork I learned that I was charging extremely low rates for my skillset; this was mostly due to the fact that I didn't really understand what was a competitive rate for what I was doing, and I didn't want to lose contracts for charging too much. 

I have been told that my current rate of $30USD/hr is "absurdly" low for what I am doing. I wanted to know what would be considered a fair hourly rate for an intermediate/expert app developer (about 10 years of experience) with an audio specialization?

I would like to charge a rate that is fair but is also low enough so that I don't feel pressured to deliver the impossible for potentially non tech-savvy clients. I hope that makes sense.

Thanks,

-Chris

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
caldus
Community Member

I somewhat agree with the other posts, but my take on it is that if you're "the expert", then you're free to set a much higher rate if you wish. Clients really don't have any choice if they really need an expert in that field and you are the only one. It's basic economics. 🙂 I would say as long as it's not absurdly high, then I doubt you would still have trouble finding those types of projects to work on.