🐈
» Groups » Upwork Engineering » Forum » Remote, online internship for junior web deve...
Page options
velibor88
Community Member

Remote, online internship for junior web developer. Total beginner!

Hello fellow Upworkers,

I recently graduated, with a bachelors degree in Computer Science.

I'm interested in learning web development, but let's say that I'm really having a hard time getting an internship. Is there a possibility to get a web development(javascript,html,css, later some back end too) internship on Upwork? Are there any clients that you are familiar with, who offer this? I would be willing to work for a very modest fee and I really have an immense desire to learn. Sorry, if this sounds weird, I literally don't know who to ask anymore. I don't have any confidence to apply for web developer jobs yet and the clients that are looking for junior web devs are pretty scarce. Please help!

Thanks guys and girls !

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
gbalint
Community Member

I don't know the country you're in (I assume US), but here are hired people with no background in computers whatsoever. Like people working in agriculture are hired as developers.

Maybe there (US?) there's some competition, but internationally any Tom, Dick Van Dyke Van Dick Van Dyke Van Dyke or Harry is going to be hired as long as he sends a CV and actually shows up to the interview (and doesn't ask for 1000 euros per month or more).

With that said, the only enemy is yourself. I've worked for more than 10 years as a software dev/engineer/architect/consultant/freelancer/ninja/guru/lead/whatever and even today I'm still reading the PHP.net documentation and learn things I never heard of before just to do some menial task.

I don't think you know how Upwork works, but generally the people hired struggle with English. I won't even get into talking about their technical skills.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
bobafett999
Community Member

Congratulations for getting a degree.