🐈
» Groups » Upwork Engineering » Forum » iOS Music App Developer having trouble with a...
Page options
billjobsinspace
Community Member

iOS Music App Developer having trouble with a milestone-based project

Hi Everyone,

I feel like I may have bitten off more than I can chew with my current contract.

I'm an intermediate/expert iOS app developer with a specialty in audio programming. So far most of my projects have been music-related apps that require some sort of audio processing, such as pitch tracking or real-time sound generation. I have been told the specialty of being an audio developer (and fluent musician) is somewhat rare on this website.

Up until now I have worked hourly projects, with clients with at least some degree of technical experience and therefore have a better idea of what the software development process is like. My rate is typically $30/hr, but I have worked for a lot less (still hourly) when I first got started on Upwork. This is the most comfortable way to work for me becuase I don't have the stress on my shoulders of worrying about when I will get paid. At the same time, I am fairly generous with the time tracker (switching it off the moment I have to do anything non-work related), and I have never exceeded 20 hours a week on any given contract.

Right now I've taken on a project that I initially thought would be another hourly project, at my current rate of $30/hr. The initial deal was to complete a small prototype at a fixed rate, followed by steady work at a "highly competitive flat rate". The project involves real-time pitch tracking of musical instruments for a rhythm game. A musical score is drawn on the screen, and the student must play back the written melody, with the pitch tracking system keeping track of what notes they are playing, and if they are correct or not according to the score.