🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Article writing
Page options
w1fe0j0hnny
Community Member

Article writing

I'm a freelance writer who writes everything from conversational articles and more formal articles to fiction stories. Lately, I have been noticing a problem with clients who try to say my articles are not passing Copyscape or other plagiarism tools.

I do not plagiarize any of my work. On most articles, I do a vast amount of research and consolidate and put the ideas generated into my own words. This most recent article was written 100% from my own mind. It happened to be subject I had recently studied for myself and for many things, there are only so many ways to accomplish something . So, if you put those ideas into the article and they are common to most ways of doing something, it won't be unique. It may be written in one's own tone, but it may not be anything new under the sun.

So, the problem I'm having is, especially in this instance, the client stating that it didn't pass uniqueness tools. I truly feel many are saying this to try and  get out of paying me. He looked at the article and was very happy then came back and asked what plagiarism software I used. I told him none as I don't plagiarize.

Can someone help me with this and offer suggestions. Also input to whether any of you believe clients say this to get out of paying you? It's so frustrating to spend more time than I should on these projects to have this happen. I'm thinking about deleting article writing from my repertoire.

Phyllis

14 REPLIES 14
reinierb
Community Member

Things like Copyscape were invented for the sole purpose of making very good article rewriters out of mediocre article rewriters.