🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: Citing sources when writing blog posts?
Page options
cbonsra
Community Member

Citing sources when writing blog posts?

I'm new to the blog writing thing and I have a question.

I was hired to do a job and if it goes well there could be more work in the future. The job is writing blog posts on any given topic. The client has said that sources should be linked to if you use a direct quote or if it is unique information (such as the website you got the content from was written by the actual researcher who discovered the info), but a list of sources isn't needed. So I'm confused. I thought every fact that you got elsewhere had to be acknowledged with some kind of citation. The topic I'm writing about is one I know nothing about prior to research, so anything I write will have come from a source.

Is this standard blog writing practice? Definitely don't want to get into any legal trouble.
7 REPLIES 7
pudingstudio
Community Member

Christine B wrote:
I'm new to the blog writing thing and I have a question.

I was hired to do a job and if it goes well there could be more work in the future. The job is writing blog posts on any given topic. The client has said that sources should be linked to if you use a direct quote or if it is unique information (such as the website you got the content from was written by the actual researcher who discovered the info), but a list of sources isn't needed. So I'm confused. I thought every fact that you got elsewhere had to be acknowledged with some kind of citation. The topic I'm writing about is one I know nothing about prior to research, so anything I write will have come from a source.

Is this standard blog writing practice? Definitely don't want to get into any legal trouble.

Can't you do both?

Link your direct quotes. AND include a list of sources at the end of your article/blog?

It's how you would do any writing, right? You are giving your representation of the existing material.