🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: Creating a Writing/Editing Specialized Pr...
Page options
allysonk_h
Community Member

Creating a Writing/Editing Specialized Profile w/Minimal Experience.

This is a bit different than the thread Tiffany S. started...So, my main profile is basically where I work as a Virtual Assistant.  However, I enjoy and have a knack for editing/writing, but I don't have any experience on paper.  I have a few samples and have written some for jobs off of Upwork, but I have nothing published or a website.

I would like to get my foot in the door in this area, so I am wondering if anyone has advice on how to construct a Specialized Profile to do this?  How should I market myself without sounding desperate and not get ripped off in the process?

Thanks in advance!

2 REPLIES 2
colettelewis
Community Member

Allyson H wrote:

This is a bit different than the thread Tiffany S. started...So, my main profile is basically where I work as a Virtual Assistant.  However, I enjoy and have a knack for editing/writing, but I don't have any experience on paper.  I have a few samples and have written some for jobs off of Upwork, but I have nothing published or a website.

I would like to get my foot in the door in this area, so I am wondering if anyone has advice on how to construct a Specialized Profile to do this?  How should I market myself without sounding desperate and not get ripped off in the process?

Thanks in advance!

It's not so much re-jigging your profile to fit the wish, but having real hands-on experience in either of these fields, which are hugely oversubscribed.

I would suggest that to get money you stick to what you are doing to pay for an appropriate  and reputable course to follow and get a piece of paper that will earn you some cred. I know this sounds pretty crass, but clients love it.