cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Do Translators Make Better Writers?

Community Guru
Ronald T Member Since: Sep 14, 2009
1 of 19

Noticing the impeccable use of the English language in the written form offered by translators of the English language, I wonder if searching for translators instead of writers results in locating the best writers.

Maybe this is why a lot of invitations sent to translators and others engaged in higher-levels of work get invitations for simpler writing jobs.

What are your thoughts?

Community Guru
William H Member Since: Dec 2, 2013
2 of 19

Hi Ronald,

As a translator who was not formally trained in translation (I'm a political scientist by training), I think that helps, and it might even be a huge plus.

Personally, I have been a university professor and have corrected/edited 1000s of papers, so know what is good and what is bad.

I have been a research associate, so have corrected/edited hundreds of formal publications, so know what leading publishers/journals are looking for in the way of content, style and communications.

I have been published in leading journals/publishing houses (including Cambridge University Press), so know how to write for these audiences.

I have played politics (ran a couple of times at the federal level in Canada), so know how to write speeches and use words to convince.

You can't play politics if you don't know the ins and outs of marketing/communications, so I know how to sell things with words.

I have written 100s of op-ed pieces for newspapers, so know how to be both parsimonious and convincing.

So yeah, you're point is very well taken - I would not be a great translator if it was not for all my previous experience in writing.

Cheers,

William

Community Guru
Ronald T Member Since: Sep 14, 2009
3 of 19

Hi William! (Kudos) WOW! Your Upwork freelancer profile shows an outstanding job history as a translator.