🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Do you write/edit within or outside Upwork?
Page options
snusbaum
Community Member

Do you write/edit within or outside Upwork?

Hello, writers and editors! I'm just getting started here and want to make sure I have a feel for the process before bidding on jobs. I've watched several of the tutorials, have set up my profile and am comfortable with the concept of a cover letter and bid. I also, for the most part, understand how the time is tracked.

However, once you are selected, do you complete the work within the program entirely, or do you work in other programs (Word, Acrobat, Google Docs, etc.)? I'd hate to earn a job only to say "Well, I don't really know exactly how this works..."

Thanks so much!

Steph

16 REPLIES 16
tlbp
Community Member

You will work using whatever app is suitable- MSWord, GoogleDocs, etc. The client may have a preference for delivery. For hourly jobs, record your time and include memos describing the work in the space provided in the timer app.  You submit the work via message or other method per client's request. 

For fixed price, jobs only complete funded in escrow tasks .(Yes, I know there are some with long relationships with clients who do otherwise, but that's not really good advice for a newbie.) Once completed, submit the work via the "Submit Work" button and wait. If the client doesn't comment, escrowed funds are released after 14-days. Do not resubmit work during that waiting period unless you have made changes- the time resets with each resubmission. If you are working for trustworthy clients, you may want to send a draft via message before submitting for payment. This gives them a chance to offer feedback informally.  (Don't give finished work to anyone outside the formal process if you don't fully trust in their commitment to pay. )