๐Ÿˆ
ยป Groups ยป Writers & Translators ยป Forum ยป Re: Getting Started
Page options
allgaind
Community Member

Getting Started

Hi, I'm relatively new to upwork. I've been writing for four years but I've not really done any serious work. I just write on wattpad and blog for now. Quite unfortunately for me, Since I joined upwork, I've not even received a response to my proposal.
The thing is, I'm in school and I really need the money. I've studied English and as far as I can judge, my work (especially the ones that I sent to prospective clients) is up to standard.
Is there anything else I have to do? I just need advice in general.
12 REPLIES 12
lysis10
Community Member

This isn't a good place for fast money. Everyone I know who needed money fast sold a bunch of stuff on ebay. You can also sell stuff on Amazon. One man's trash is another man's treasure. My friend made $2k cleaning out his closet. He said people would buy his old hats and things.

This place is not a good place for fast money. It took me a year on Elance to finally get a flow and some months were pretty scarey.

This  is quite helpful being a newbie on Upwork!1

allgaind
Community Member

Thanks for your advice. I think I'll try it out. I was just hoping I'd get some other advice on how to survive and thrive here.
ravi_iitian
Community Member

@Allgain D wrote:
Hi, I'm relatively new to upwork. I've been writing for four years but I've not really done any serious work. I just write on wattpad and blog for now. Quite unfortunately for me, Since I joined upwork, I've not even received a response to my proposal.
The thing is, I'm in school and I really need the money. I've studied English and as far as I can judge, my work (especially the ones that I sent to prospective clients) is up to standard.
Is there anything else I have to do? I just need advice in general.

Are you serious?

Overview.png

"Certa bonum certamen"

well that'll teach me to skip the view profile step

tlbp
Community Member