cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Getting a decent article writing job!

love_to_work888
Rommel Q Member Since: May 18, 2017
1 of 17

Hi Upwork Community/Family, Smiley Wink

I am new to this platform, so please bare with me if I am sharing this rudimentary concern. Lately, I got hired by two employers. My tasks are basically to write blogs for a gardening website in the US and the other is for a news website based in Canada. Both clients are professionals and I am happy with the way things are going on. 

However, I still have extra time and I want to utilize it; so I decided to apply for more article writing jobs. Though many clients want to hire me sadly their offers are very low e.g. $2 - 500 words or $5 - 1000. It is just frustrating to see these kinds of offers, so I declined them. I just dont know how they come up with such rates considering the time, money and energy that a dedicated writer has to invest to produce high-quality articles. 

On the other hand, some employers offer lucrative rates but many have hired employees already. Others only want writers from the Americas, Others want a very quick turn-around-time for the submission of articles. Right now I am still trying to examine where did I fall short? Is my rate too high? Have I not pleased high-paying employers during interviews? I just want to know straighforward tips to really maximize my employablity! To get a win-win deal for me and the clients. Please do help me. 

Sincerely, 

Rommel 

datasciencewonk
Community Guru
Kat C Member Since: Jul 11, 2016
BEST ANSWER
2 of 17

1. Choose a specific writing niche. 

2. In your profile overview, state specifically what type of writing you do towards the TOP. If you've written for digital publications, you should understand how digital readers digest information. As it stands now, your profile overview doesn't represent that understanding. 

View solution in original post

love_to_work888
3 of 17

Hi Kat C.,