🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Help please.
Page options
aeishar
Community Member

Help please.

I'm just starting out and I need some advice on how to improve my profile so that I can win jobs. I need someone to tell me everything that is wrong so I can improve.

8 REPLIES 8
carloslobo28
Community Member

Hi! your overview is a fruit salad, that is quite unclear, confusing, your title focus on writing but you start your overview as proofreader and thereafter say little about writing. You need to be more consistent and list your skills by segments, also you need to talk about experience. 

itsolutions065
Community Member

Hi Zubair, 

Welcome to Upwork and the Upwork Community! 

Make sure first of all 100% complete your profile, Like employment history, Education, Other experience etc.Good Title, attractive descriptions in detail in which you experts. Attractive Prifile picture.

You're offering proofreading services, yet you spelled "fulfill" wrong straight off the bat. Your Editing & Proofreading profile sounds a bit forced and artificial with many poorly written sentences. Also, it's not "copy-writing," but copywriting.  

"Fulfil" is correct. The OP is Jamaican and therefore far more likely to use British-style English. 

aeishar
Community Member

I'm Jamaican, therefore, I use Jamaican Standard English which is
essentially British English. However, if clients specify they need American
English I'm also able to write in that version. Here are some other
variations in spellings:
colour - color
flavour - flavor
humour - humor
labour - labor
neighbour - neighbor
apologise - apologize
organise - organize
recognise - recognize

It's quite a long list.

Aeisha, 

The problem you may come up against on Upwork is that there are thousands of freelancers here offering the same skills as you and possibly thousands who have experience and related qualifications.