🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: Higher pay rate for editing vs content wr...
Page options
natashadaya
Community Member

Higher pay rate for editing vs content writing?

Hi all,

I am new to Upwork and have recently been hired by a client for the first time. The job posting was for an editor and the client asked me to edit one document first to see if I was a good fit. He then said I did a great job and has now asked me to write the content. He also expects me to edit my own work as I write. Since the client is asking me to do something different from the original job description, is it fair for me to ask for a higher rate of pay (this is an hourly job)? Can I do this when I am already hired for the job? I don't want to lose the client since this is a good opportunity for me, but I feel that a higher rate of pay is warranted given the new job description. Any advice you can provide would be much appreciated! Thanks!

6 REPLIES 6
jr-translation
Community Member

Natasha D wrote:

Hi all,

I am new to Upwork and have recently been hired by a client for the first time. The job posting was for an editor and the client asked me to edit one document first to see if I was a good fit. He then said I did a great job and has now asked me to write the content. He also expects me to edit my own work as I write. Since the client is asking me to do something different from the original job description, is it fair for me to ask for a higher rate of pay (this is an hourly job)? Can I do this when I am already hired for the job? I don't want to lose the client since this is a good opportunity for me, but I feel that a higher rate of pay is warranted given the new job description. Any advice you can provide would be much appreciated! Thanks!

First a link to your first thread in case people feel like they read the story before.