🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: How to create my Translation Portfolio ( ...
Page options
yasselkharrazi
Community Member

How to create my Translation Portfolio ( Newbie Translator ).

Hello everyone.

I am new to UpWork, I am a newbie Arabic-English English-Arabic translator, and I do not have any professional experience (I just graduated), But I know I can do Great in this field. 
The problem is that I don't have a Portfolio and my Profile is pretty much empty, and I would like to create my own Professional Portfolio.. 

So, what should I do as a first step in the process of creating my portfolio ?
I am thinking of translating a whole book, is it a good idea ?
Should I write my own original text, and translate it ?

Any thoughts / advice ?

Thank You.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

Welcome!

For your portfolio, go ahead and translate some documents, choose something from various types, such as one general article, one technical translation, one medical one etc.

Further I would respectfully suggest that you don't offer Arabic to English translations.

Translating is much more than knowing two languages, and ideally a translator should only translate into their native language or a language they have a native-equivalent grasp on. That is fairly rare and usually only happens when you have lived in the other country for many years. It's not just the language, it's the culture, the way things are expressed etc. A translation must never read like it was translated, but like it was written in the target language. That is (much to the surprise of many people who are not translators) hard enough when translating into your native language, and infinitely more difficult when the target language is not your native tongue.

Concentrate on gaining experience translating from English to Arabic, especially if you have no professional experience.

View solution in original post

20 REPLIES 20
petra_r
Community Member

Welcome!