🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: How to manage client expectation in writi...
Page options
shwetags12
Community Member

How to manage client expectation in writing

Hi guys, I am a part-time freelance writer on Upwork. I write web content for IT companies, individuals, and small businesses. Primarily, I write blogs and web copy. You can see my feedback - it's a series of 5-star or 4.5 star feedbacks. But recently I had a series of bad experiences which is making me question everything - my writing skills, my freelancing skills and my choice to work on Upwork. 

I don't want to waste your time so briefly highlighting the experiences I had - all in the last 2 weeks - 

Client 1 - hourly job - told me to ghostwrite a trial blog for her - only gave the general topic - no information at all on the direction the article should take etc. I wrote the article (1 hour billed) - I also told her I would need some examples from her to make the article better as if it is written by her.

She responded very positively, sent me some general information and disappeared for a week. I contacted her and requested clarification. Came back, said article reflects no inside knowledge of my business, closed contract and gave me 3 for quality and 3 for skills and 4 for co-operation!!!

Client 2- gave me a fixed price contract for entire website. - I set all the milestones. Wanted 1 100 word para and 10 bullet points for 56 web pages. I agreed at $5 a page. After I wrote 7 pages, changed scope to 2 paras and 20 bullet points - refused to increase price. I still persisted and rewrote said 7 pages. After reading them, kept asking for more content and rework on 3 pages.

I ended the contract and gave full refund for this milestone as I knew if I didn't it would end up in dispute. Client gave no return feedback.