cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to translate mobile apps? What skills do I need to learn?

lyhanhtien
Tien L Member Since: May 4, 2017
1 of 7

I am a newbie translator. There are a lot of clients need their apps translated. But I don't know whether I need to learn about HMTL and other skills about IT, or not.

Looking forward to your replies.

Thank you!

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 7

This forum is for discussing Upwork. This is not really an Upwork issue. Those of us who post freelancer profile pages and present ourselves as having certain skills did not learn those skills here.

If any Forum participants want to offer tips, of course they are welcome to do so. But if you are serious about learning how to do this, I think you will need to look to other resources. Or you could post a job on Upwork.com asking for freelancers to train you how to do this.

Speaking generally, if I was a project owner or project manager for an app, I would make sure that when I hire translators, I hire them ONLY to translate. I would provide them with simple text files containing the text strings within the app which need to be translated. I would my technical team handle the actual mechanics of using the provided translations to localize an app or make an app multilingual.

petra_r
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
3 of 7

@Preston H wrote:

1). This forum is for discussing Upwork. This is not really an Upwork issue

2) Speaking generally, if I was a project owner or project manager for an app, I would make sure that when I hire translators, I hire them ONLY to translate. I would provide them with simple text files containing the text strings within the app which need to be translated. I would my technical team handle the actual mechanics of using the provided translations to localize an app or make an app multilingual.