🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: Improving work efficiency
Page options
aaya_t
Community Member

Improving work efficiency

Hello,

I would like to ask the more experienced members of the community for advice. Since the beginning of this year, I have been trying to earn extra income through freelance translation, editing, and transcription. I am a graduate student, and I am also a caregiver for my grandmother, and I have a lot on my plate. However, even taking this into account, I am very slow; I am a perfectionist and tend to get caught up in the finer details, sometimes spending days researching one small element for a job.

Recently I received a terrible review from a repeat client who had hired me to translate part of a book and edit/proofread the part that had already been translated. While I completed the translations successfully (but not without some delays), I found myself quagmired when it came to the editing. In the end I apologized to the client and declined to complete the remaining portions to be edited, and he cancelled the editing contract; then when I closed the translation contract because that work was done, he left his review there.

It bothers me that I'm like this, and not only because I earn much less than I potentially could, although of course that is part of it. What can I do to improve my efficiency?

Thank you,

Aaya

3 REPLIES 3
petra_r
Community Member

Aaya T wrote:

Hello,

I would like to ask the more experienced members of the community for advice. Since the beginning of this year, I have been trying to earn extra income through freelance translation, editing, and transcription. I am a graduate student, and I am also a caregiver for my grandmother, and I have a lot on my plate. However, even taking this into account, I am very slow; I am a perfectionist and tend to get caught up in the finer details, sometimes spending days researching one small element for a job.