🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Is it normal that i dont get a job or there i...
Page options
locarius
Community Member

Is it normal that i dont get a job or there is something wrong with my profile ?

Hello, fellow translators & writers...

So to start with im a bit frustrated due to not getting a single client at the end of February and March, now i know it can be my fault or something that i need to change but here is what i usually do when proposals are being send to the client:

- Brief proposal / cover letter (at a reasonable price).

- Attach a sample file (if the client added one to the job i use the same as a part of the sample).

Now im a translator since i was about 12 years old, i learned english and improved upon reaching my current level of english, and i also know portuguese at a native level, but i dont like to translate into portuguese just yet.

Im trying to you know grow in the freelance and upwork community, and my last work was done quick and without any issue, yet the client didn't place any feedback and im not sure if that is also whats affecting me.

Hope to get suggestions and anwsers from other translators like myself.

Cheers.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
samanta_l
Community Member

Hi Ricardo,

I'm going to try to help you out, as a fellow Spanish translator, I think Jennifer and Nichola are right. Your profile is underwhelming as it is full of grammatical mistakes, that can be avoided by just running a simple spellcheck.

Furthermore, your overview seems incomplete and inconsistent with the services you offer. It easily could make anyone doubt that you are a fluent English speaker, hurting your chances instead of improving them. 

The only thing I would add to Nichola's advice is to put more emphasis on your past job experiences and your university degree.  

Good luck!

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
colettelewis
Community Member

Ricardo,