🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: Is this the going rate for writing on Upw...
Page options
smekdam
Community Member

Is this the going rate for writing on Upwork?

I have been writing for a living for the past five years, and I have done it through Facebook, my blog and through some other freelancing sites.

Those didn't really provide a steady flow of work and I was advised by a friend who does animations as a freelancer to seek my luck with Upwork.

Now, I have been active on Upwork for almost a year, and my experience outside of it started to dwindle as I was trying to establish myself on the network as best as I can by focusing on jobs coming mainly from Upwork.

The problem is, the rates are usually quite low, I would search for days just to find a single decent enough paying job, and I am not asking for much, 0.025 cents per word, so, I am not getting a lot of work because I just can't swallow the very low pay.

The rates in most advertised jobs are as low as 0.001 cents per word.

Recently, I can't even get a new job for the last two months as the rates became ridiculously low, and I am starting to see a trend.

So sorry for the very long introduction, but this trend is worrying me a lot since I all but abandoned my blog and my Facebook profile to establish myself here, did I make a grave mistake? Is this the normal going rate for jobs on Upowrk?

Sorry again for the long post, write it off as a bad writer's habit of going too deep into details.

13 REPLIES 13
michael_skaggs
Community Member

To be blunt, if you worry about the "going rate" on Upwork, you've already lost half of the battle.