🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: Low Pay expecting expertise - Move to a l...
Page options
mattnewnham
Community Member

Low Pay expecting expertise - Move to a lowcost platform

Upwork is supposed to be a platform for professional freelancers. Sadly in recent months, those offering work are paying less and less. I don't want to be offensive but India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Asia are among the worst and I have wasted valuable time submitting proposals for experts or intermediate only to find the pay rate below that of a complete beginner. 

There needs to be a lower limit on what should be paid. Fair enough it is about supply and demand but the pay offered by some people offering contracts is more suited to Fiverr.com.  I often quote companies looking for Expert writers $30 per hour or at least $50 per 1000 words - the cost to hire a professional - and end up in discussions asking for $5 to $10 per hour. I don't want to create any snobbery on Upwork but platforms do exist where the much lower rates are the norm and the skills presented are not too bad.

As professional freelancers, we are being downgraded and abused through rates such as these and our professionalism is being made a mockery of.  

Of course, some of us will work for slightly lower rates than others but the respect for our craft is essential.  

I do not know if there is a way that Upwork can control the payment offers for particular classes of expertise, minimum rates per hour or minimum project costs. Yes, Upwork does have the best resource of the best freelancers but I am sure most of us are now getting fed up with people wanting experts and paying peanuts. 

In the commercial world, it may even make sense for Upwork to collaborate with Fiverr.com or create their own no-frills, low budget platform to weed out those really who don't appreciate the value of a freelancer.