🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: Need for translation job template
Page options
tkurosaka2
Community Member

Need for translation job template

I am a software developer but also trying to start a translation service (English to Japanese). And I have been frustrated because the project descpritions tend to be very vague and in order to ask questions I have to use my connect points and make a proposal.

For example, I applied for a translation project that seem to indicate they have multiple opportunities. The client contacted me and interviewed me only to find they are looking for someone who can translate legal documents, which requires special skill set than, say, consumer oriented web applications. This same client was also had a tag "live interpreter" in addition to "written document". I see many clients who tags "translation" when they mean "interpretation".

Wouldn't it be helpful if upwork could come up with some kind of translation job template and encourage their clients to use it. The template would list things like:

• Translation or interpretation
  • Source language
  • Target language
  • Approximate number of source words (or character if Chinese and Japanese):
  • Type of contents (general, science, technology, etc.)
  • Delivery format (Word, Powerpoint, XLIFF, etc.)
  • Dead line, if any
  • Any special skills/experiences required? (Legal translation, medical translation etc.)

This is good for clients too as they can reduce waste of time dealing with free lancers that don't match their requirements.

What would the community think?

Also, I feel upwork should consider to have an option of having per-word rate, since it is the standard practice in the translation industry. I found a discussion in 2014 about this and at that time they seem to focus on other areas.

8 REPLIES 8
prestonhunter
Community Member

Kuro:

Everything you say about a translation job template makes sense.

Except that Upwork is not a translation service.