🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: No response: What do you do when your cli...
Page options
62497aac
Community Member

No response: What do you do when your client does not respond to work submitted?

Last week I submitted the first milestone of editing/writing work to new client. We had spoken, I had reviewed the ms, and I felt confident what she was looking for in terms of editing/revisions. I submitted on the deadline (last Friday) and heard nothing back which is very unusual, in fact has ever happened. I am a top-rated developmental editor and writer.

On Tuesday (yesterday) I followed up, making sure she had received material. No response. So of course I'm thinking the "worst."  She's put off perhaps by my editing and evaluation I gave her, maybe doesn't know how to address it having never working with a professional editor before. I understand it can be awkward. 

So I'm looking for some tips here -- what are some effective ways of handling this? 

Thanks everyone for your response!!

Sally Wolfe

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Annemarie, as others advised Sally above, if the milestone was funded and you used the "submit" button, you don't have to do a thing. The client has 14 days in which to request revisions. If that doesn't happen, the funds will automatically be released.

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18
petra_r
Community Member

If you submitted through the proper "Submit work and request payment" function on the contract you do nothing, as you will be paid automatically 14 days afterwards, provided it was fully funded.

kfarnell
Community Member

Twice recently files I've attached to the "Submit work and request payment" function haven't actually gone through although the screen said they were there when I pressed the button. 

I now submit files via the message board or email as well. It may be worth you doing this to be on the safe side.

Kim that happened to me today.