🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: Payment per word count
Page options
atlanticwords
Community Member

Payment per word count

Hi

I am a freelance translator. I have a client interested in hiring me to translate documents as they come in every week within 24 h. It’s going to be an ongoing contract and I would like to charge per word count. We agreed about a price but since we don’t know how much work it is going to be we can´t handle it as a fixed price contract. But the only other way I find to invoice the client is per hour. Is there a way to invoice per word count?

Thanks

Cordula

10 REPLIES 10
matthew-thrush
Community Member

Hey Cordula,

Something that I do with clients when this same situation occurs is to have them fund the Escrow account with a minimum amount that you know you'll write. Meaning, if you know you'll at least write say 50,000 words and your rate per word is $.02, then you would have them fund the Escrow with $1000. Then, the rest is funded as you write it or know what the total word count comes to at the end. This ensures that you're getting paid upfront in some form before beginning the work. Also, I've found this works well with Milestones as you're writing. 

I hope this helps. Very exciting for you to have found a long-term client. 🙂

Matthew

Hi Matthew,

I saw your answer about billing for word count, but being new to Upwork, I'm not sure how I do that.

Any hints on how I actually do it within Upwork?

Thanks in advance

Martin

jr-translation
Community Member

@Cordula H wrote:

Hi

I am a freelance translator. I have a client interested in hiring me to translate documents as they come in every week within 24 h. It’s going to be an ongoing contract and I would like to charge per word count. We agreed about a price but since we don’t know how much work it is going to be we can´t handle it as a fixed price contract. But the only other way I find to invoice the client is per hour. Is there a way to invoice per word count?