Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Please Review My Profile!

inspire77
Ace Contributor
Lahcen S Member Since: Jun 19, 2017
1 of 23

Hello everyone,

I'm a new freelancer here and in the past few days I proposed for many jobs but couldn't get a single one or even an interview.

Could it be something wrong with my profile?

Please check it and tell me what you think.

Thank you.

datasciencewonk
Community Guru
Kat C Member Since: Jul 11, 2016
2 of 23

I'll leave the specifics of translation to the experienced translation experts who respond in the forums.

However, in terms of expecting a contract within a few days of being on Upwork, you find that realistic?

It takes a while and you have to keep in mind whether or not there is a demand in your field of translation. Also, is your field of translation a saturated market?

Opening contracts (and successfully closing them) takes more effort than merely setting up an account, your account being approved, and then submitting proposals.  There are more factors at play (is what, essentially, I'm saying to you).

inspire77
Ace Contributor
3 of 23

However, in terms of expecting a contract within a few days of being on Upwork, you find that realistic?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks, Kat.

No, I don't find it realistic. I know it takes time. It's just something I don't get. I proposed for a job for which "less than 5" proposed and 3 got hired but not me. Is it because of that "Preferred Qualifications" thing (Job Success Score/Include Rising Talent)? The client sees that I have no job success and I'm not a rising talent.

I can't have these things if no one hires me!

petra_r
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
4 of 23

There is nothing particularly "wrong" with your profile, it just doesn't stand out.

You REALLY need a portfolio.