🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Quality of translation tests
Page options
agnethe
Community Member

Quality of translation tests

What's your impression of the translation tests? And are they relevant for showcasing your language skills to potential clients?

I just finished the English to Danish translation test, but some of the answers were poor quality translations, and one question did not have a correct answer. Seems like the translations were written by someone who spoke the language, but with average writing skills. Now I have a 4.9 score rather than 5,  despite the fact that I'm a professional writer and native Danish speaker with a university degree in Danish, because I was looking for the least incorrect translation. I don't want to showcase such a result on my profile.

Anyone had a similar problem?

21 REPLIES 21
jr-translation
Community Member

Yes. Some solutions just do not match and you can only guess what they are looking for. Some skill test are poor translations as well using expression that in theory are correct but not used by any native speaker.

I tried to used the comment function during the exam to point out the problems but then the times keeps running and you might get an even worse result.

I just do not worry too much about them. You can retake the exam as well later on. You can also decide not to display it in your profile.

Well I'm glad I'm not the only one...

I just worry that without actual proof that I'm a skilled translator, my proposals will be ignored, since I've had zero jobs so far and have yet to prove myself. Don't know how many clients will actually look at my portfolio, since that's the only 'proof' I have right now.

jmeyn
Community Member

The tests are pretty much **Edited for Community Guidelines**. Quality is poor. I never did them.

agnethe
Community Member

So what did you rely on the get your first customers? Portfolio?

jmeyn
Community Member

@agnethe P wrote: