🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: Question about portfolios for writers
Page options
3d1ff626
Community Member

Question about portfolios for writers

Hi,

I'm new to Upwork and looking for some advice on portfolio building for writers. I've been lucky and successful here so far. I have two clients for large fixed-price projects and am in talks with a third. These projects are all fairly extensive and should keep me pretty busy for awhile, but I want to improve my profile going forward. Specifically, I want to build a strong portfolio but am not sure how to best go about that.

The success I've had has been with medical writing projects, working in healthcare for years has been a big help for me, and I think it's something I'd like to specalize in on Upwork. I want to build a portfolio that reflects my writing style for those sorts of projects. However, most of the nonfiction writing I've been paid for in the past is ghostwriting, so it can't be used. The Upwork clients I already have are also ghostwriting, so I won't be able to use those after they're done. I've written other pieces online, but they are mostly humor or pop culture related, and don't fit the tone of what I want for my portfolio. I don't want to use anything i've written that's fiction for the same reason.

The pieces I've been sending as samples with proposals are in word documents, and not published, so I don't want to use those in my portfolio either. 

Should I be creating content specifically for my portfolio? Since I've already found work here, should I not worry about my portfolio for now and build it once I have pieces through clients I can use?

Any advice would be fantastic!

11 REPLIES 11
tlbp
Community Member

Yes. Create content specifically for your profile. Woman Happy

e_luneborg
Community Member