cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Serious Help Needed!

Youssef S Member Since: Jan 16, 2017
1 of 32

Hello everyone,

I have been on UpWork for a long time now, and I have been submitting proposals for more than five months, and these proposals are always tailored to match the job they are being submitted to (Not the copy & paste stuff) without getting hired at all. Moreover, in all that time I just had my very first job three days ago that pays little to nothing for a lot of work, which I was compelled to accept to start having a job success score, which seemingly helps improve the chances of being hired.

I follow the best guidelines available here when I am writing any proposal, and try my best to describe why I am the best fit for this job, and I also do my best to write a very convincing cover letter.

I have scored "1st Place" in two English spelling tests, a "Top 10%" on another English test, and a "Top 10%" on the English to Arabic translation test. Please view my profile for more details.

The problem is this; I see most of the people who get hired have mostly "Above Average" test scores -especially in the most important test, English to Arabic translation- , terrible grammatical and vocabulary mistakes in their overview (which should logically destroy your reputation as a translator), a feeble profile that reflects very weak English and/or Arabic skills.

How is that possible? Man Mad Is there something wrong with my profile or what exactly is the problem here? Does UpWork previous job experience really matter so much to the point of favoring someone who is evidently unskilled over another highly skilled freelancer? And don't get me wrong; I'm not trying to say that I'm better than anyone, and it wouldn't even make sense to say so because I'm not even getting hired.

Thank you.

Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
2 of 32

5000 words a day at least?