cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Strange Check (Removed Job)

Joshua H Member Since: Jan 8, 2019
1 of 7

So I applied for this "comprehensive editor/proofreader" job (which upwork just removed for violating their terms) and have been communicating with one of the managers via google hangout. Apparently, the company is a real estate investment company called **edited for Community Guidelines**

The website seemed legitimate and they offered me work, but then they sent me an echeck for $900. The check looks valid, but I smell something fishy. There was nothing in their info handout or contract about being sent a large check to use for company purposes. Does anyone know what's going on in this situation? I'm new to this so my knowledge base is somewhat low. 

Montanna W Member Since: Aug 31, 2018
2 of 7

Hi Joshua,

I am a Licensed Bank Auditor and can help with this. First, it if feels fishy, it most likely is. 

Did you complete any work for them or simply apply?

Do you know why the sent you an echeck? How did they send you the echeck? Did you provide them with personal banking information to receive it?

Have you deposited the echeck to your account?

-Montanna

Community Guru
Elba A Member Since: Feb 28, 2017
3 of 7

@Joshua H wrote:

So I applied for this "comprehensive editor/proofreader" job (which upwork just removed for violating their terms) and have been communicating with one of the managers via google hangout. Apparently, the company is a real estate investment company called "dealpath." The website seemed legitimate and they offered me work, but then they sent me an echeck for $900. The check looks valid, but I smell something fishy. There was nothing in their info handout or contract about being sent a large check to use for company purposes. Does anyone know what's going on in this situation? I'm new to this so my knowledge base is somewhat low.