🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: Tips for Getting Started as a Freelancer!
Page options
burtner_madison
Community Member

Tips for Getting Started as a Freelancer!

Hello! I'm a new freelancer on Upwork, offering writing, design, and photography. I know that it takes patience and a load of hard work to initially get going. However, I was wondering if there were any seasoned freelance professionals out there who wold be willing to take a second to look my profile over and give me any constructive advice and tips on how to improve it. Any help would be very appreciated. If you are one who takes time out of their busy schedule to do this, I want to express my extreme gratitude in advance. Thank you much!

-Madison **Edited for community guidelines**

11 REPLIES 11
creativedigit
Community Member

Hello Madison,

I'm sure many would be happy to help. I'm not a writer, but I think your profile will look better when you add line spacing between paragraphs.

reinierb
Community Member

@Madison B wrote:

Hello! I'm a new freelancer on Upwork, offering writing, design, and photography. I know that it takes patience and a load of hard work to initially get going. However, I was wondering if there were any seasoned freelance professionals out there who wold be willing to take a second to look my profile over and give me any constructive advice and tips on how to improve it. Any help would be very appreciated. If you are one who takes time out of their busy schedule to do this, I want to express my extreme gratitude in advance. Thank you much!

-Madison M. Burtner

@ @Madison, I'm sure others will weigh in as well, but here's what I suggest- 

Reduce your profile overview by at least two-thirds. Clients are generally put off by solid walls of text. Break your overview up into clear paragraphs with short sentences, and/or use bullet points to emphasize important points, skills, or other information you want to draw attention to.