🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: Tips for new freelance writers
Page options
meriraja
Community Member

Tips for new freelance writers

Hi!

I'm new in Upwork, and would like to get started as a freelance creative writer through this website (I've previously done creative writing as a hobby). Do any of you have tips on how to get higher-quality jobs?

I've seen many very small assignments here such as writing a few hundred words for 5$ or something. With the 20% reduction Upwork takes, I don't think that's very feasible, but the more substantial assignments often seem to require experience.

Also, is 3 cents per word a reasonable rate in your opinion? I wouldn't want to take something as low as 1 cent per word, since that will just push down prices for everyone and will not help the situation. 

I'd also like to ask the more experienced writers here what kind of jobs they usually take on, and which kinds are the most satisfactory. And of course, something of how you yourselves got started in here, if you care to share!

Cheers,

Meri

17 REPLIES 17
datasciencewonk
Community Member

Hi Meri,

I'm going to be straight up with you.

Creative writers are a dime a dozen on Upwork. Now, if you're just here to maybe make small amounts of money, then perhaps that doesn't matter. Everyone has a different goal or set of objectives for their efforts.

Most of the creative writing is .01 per word -- and sometimes not even that "high." (I'm being cheeky here.)

It appears that every human being who can string a simple sentence together in English believes they can write to make money (I'm *not* referring to you, I'm emphasizing the size of the competition on this platform). 

If creative writing is your niche, I'd still narrow that down. SciFi? Romances? SciFi Romance? Screenplays? Place this in your title.