🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: Translation charges
Page options
50790dda
Community Member

Translation charges

Hi everyone,

I'm a freelance translator that's new to upwork and I was wondering about the hourly rate form of charging in the platform. The norm outside of upwork is to charge per word count (usually around 10 USD cents per word), so my question is, does anyone discuss this with their clients once they land a project, saying that they will be charged per word, do you just charge per hour, or how do you handle this, if at all?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
colettelewis
Community Member

Catalina H wrote:

Hi everyone,

I'm a freelance translator that's new to upwork and I was wondering about the hourly rate form of charging in the platform. The norm outside of upwork is to charge per word count (usually around 10 USD cents per word), so my question is, does anyone discuss this with their clients once they land a project, saying that they will be charged per word, do you just charge per hour, or how do you handle this, if at all?

Catalina,

A per-word translation is fine as a ballpark figure, but translation is not a one-size-fits all. For me, the price depends on the subject of the translation. Technical, legal, and medical translations generally take longer than a blog about your favourite foods (for example) - so my price can vary quite considerably. 

Always insist (politely) on seeing the entire work to be translated before giving your price and turnaround estimate. When it comes to a really long, book length translation, then it is probably better to give a lower per word quote (and lower than the suggested rates below), but again, try and match the per-word quote to the time it is likely to take you.

Don't price yourself beyond what the market will take, but don't underestimate either, otherwise you will end up making a loss. You might find this guideline useful:  https://www.translatorscafe.com/cafe/CommunityRates.asp