🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » What does translator mean on Upwork?
Page options
luce-neidert
Community Member

What does translator mean on Upwork?

I'm in a bad mood, here's why:

Recently, I "came across" a client who wanted marketing and medical English to French translation.  I made an offer. He sent me a message saying my rate was too high, that he had found an agency willing to offer that type of translation for $ 0,04 a word (!!!!).

We bargained a little, and he generously proposed $ 0,05 a word, which is a rate I proposed 3 years ago to a repeat customer I like working with very much. Obviously, other customers have to pay a higher rate.

Why? 

Because learning English takes time and dedication. And then, learning to translate from English to French takes an enormous amount of time and energy too. After years of hard work, I earned a Master's degree from my university, which I'm rather proud of.

Then, there is the time factor. It takes time to translate, time to research, time to proofread... And time should be money.

I just had to make an experiment: I offered a translation job (which I have cancelled since) to see what would happen if I asked for translation at $ 0,01 a word. I did get offers, and only 1/5 of the freelancers bid a higher rate. Some even lowered the rate. Of course, not many of these freelancers had any real training in translation.

So here we are: clients don't seem to value translation because they don't know what translation is. They are offered translation by freelancers that haven't much more knowledge than them about what translation is.

This must be why we can now see so many job offers where a client is naive enough to require someone to review a Google translation - which I hope no real translator will ever accept to do...

I'm still in a very bad mood...

51 REPLIES 51
petra_r
Community Member

Luce N wrote:

I'm in a bad mood, here's why: