cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will someone explain what a ghostwriter is?

Shaunda M Member Since: Nov 14, 2016
1 of 15

I'm new to Upworks and have been looking at jobs. I need someone to explain what a ghostwriter is? From the jobs I've read it's not what I thought it was. These people seem to be asking for complete books written and then they put their name on it. Technicallythat's not what ghoswriting is. I'm lost.

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 15

That's exactly what ghostwriting is.

So "technically," you were incorrect.

Shaunda M Member Since: Nov 14, 2016
3 of 15

I knew a ghostwriter worked  with getting no credit.  I just thought that one person supplied the info or idea and then the ghoswriter wrote the actual text. I guess I've never heard of someone writing an original book and then simply turning it over to be published.

Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
4 of 15

That's what we here in the ol' Upwork homestead like to call junk writers. Those $50 ebooks are probably good for a laugh. Last year, I had someone come back to me after he hired one of the "US based" farmers that sent it out to the lowest bidder to write. I always knew he farmed, but it gave me an ego boost when I read the outcome of the project.

The farmer used to have that lame "top 1% of writers" at the top of "his" profile. I'll never forget when I said to the guy "I'm really sorry you got caught up with a farmer, but this is my price. I can't go cheaper just because you already paid a poor provider." His response to me was "But this guy is the top 1% of writers. He wouldn't do that." LOL OK, buddy.

If you ever get your hands on one of those $50 ebooks, read it for the lulz.

Community Guru
Tiffany S Member Since: Jan 15, 2016
5 of 15

@Jennifer M wrote:

That's what we here in the ol' Upwork homestead like to call junk writers.