🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: Working with Voice Actor Questions
Page options
jwoods141
Community Member

Working with Voice Actor Questions

Hi guys!

I have a few questions about writing a script for voice actors. I have to preface this first by stating that this is something completely new for me, I have never done this before so I am learning. Basically, I am trying to properly cross my T’s.

My question is specifically about formatting. Specifically, how does a voice actors script look?

I want to clarify that I am talking about a voice actor for a cartoon character, not a voice over reading.

I am trying to make sure that when I do hire some voice actors that I do properly convey everything such as tone and context they need for their reading. Basically, everything they need to properly do their lines I am trying to provide them in the correct, formatted way.

This will be a dumb question but here it goes…

When I hand a voice actor a script is it just a regular screen play script copy or is it formatted in a different way specifically for them?

Also, is a voiceover artist considered the same thing as a voice actor for a cartoon character. I know, noob question but I have to ask.

Thank you in advance.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
kfarnell
Community Member

Am I reading something different? My understanding of the OP is that he is hiring voice actors and wants his script presented in the optimum format. Not writing a script for a client.

The difference between a play script and what you're talking about is that you may want to add timestamps like shown here:  https://www.voicecrafters.com/how-to-format-a-script-for-a-voice-over/

ETA: I think for what you describe 'voice actor' is a better term (but there are blurred lines between voice over artists and actors).

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
prestonhunter
Community Member

Why not ask your client how he wants the script formatted?

colettelewis
Community Member

Jason,