🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: nervous about asking for my first raise a...
Page options
0558cbf4
Community Member

nervous about asking for my first raise as an intermediate writer

Hello everyone.  I have been freelancing on upwork for 2 years now, and recently begun finding consistent writing jobs.  The client offered me a rate of .011/word, and I accepted, two jobs at this rate, as well as a similar rate from another client.  Now I am preparing to ask for my first raise.  I am nervous, and would appreicate any support or words of wisdom from more experienced freelancers.

Thank you

7 REPLIES 7
0558cbf4
Community Member

After reading a few other threads and comments on this topic, I have decided asking for .03 cents per word is very reasonable.  .05 cents per word appears to be market value, but it would be a dramatic increase, which I fear is to much to fast.

tlbp
Community Member

I usually find new clients who will pay my new desired rate before mentioning a rate increase to existing clients. I have used this method to work up to a per-word rate that is 10x what I started at several years ago. (As you may imagine, I started out at a pretty low per-word rate.) I have gradually increased my hourly rate using this technique as well. 

These increases weren't just based on the market standard though. I consistently expanded and improved my skillset over that time. So that I could justify a higher rate with each new client. 

In general, a client who wants a long-term relationship with you as their writer will meet reasonable rate increases. A client who has a fixed budget and doesn't care who does the writing will not. Some clients will appreciate added value, some can't afford the added value. 😉

martina_plaschka
Community Member

Jason L wrote: