🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: pay rate for transcription
Page options
farrar665
Community Member

pay rate for transcription

Hi, I'm new to upwork and would like to know if someone could suggest a pay rate scale?    I don't want to price too high, but then again, don't want to cheat myself either.   

Thanks

Cathy

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
natacharodriguez
Community Member

You need to first know how long it takes you to do an audio hour of transcription - and it is of course a lot, lot more than an hour of your time. Then factor in how much per hour you are prepared to receive to make it worth your while. Then just do the sums. Don't sell yourself short.

Stephen B

https://community.upwork.com/t5/Freelancers/Transcription-job-s-proper-rate/m-p/6561/highlight/true#...

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
natacharodriguez
Community Member

You need to first know how long it takes you to do an audio hour of transcription - and it is of course a lot, lot more than an hour of your time. Then factor in how much per hour you are prepared to receive to make it worth your while. Then just do the sums. Don't sell yourself short.

Stephen B

https://community.upwork.com/t5/Freelancers/Transcription-job-s-proper-rate/m-p/6561/highlight/true#...

vswwsv2
Community Member

So what's a ballpark for someone typing around 95WPM? I wonder what jobs would be best suited for that skill? Transcribing can be so boring, or quality of audio issues.
j_mcanelly
Community Member

I would say that a good test rate to start would be to charge a set amount per audio minute and notate the amount of time it took you to complete the job.

Scour the job postings and track the rates offered. You can also have a look at the rates that others here charge for their services. You can determine the average that you find from these places.