🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » precision in translation job searches
Page options
beth-raps
Community Member

precision in translation job searches

Hi there! The Upwork Help Desk encourages me to submit this as they note they can only be of limited help so far.

Translators typically translate only from one language (the one they grew up speaking) into another (the one they are bilingually fluent in but not quite to the same extent). A few translators grow up in truly bi- and even multi-lingual environments, and I am awed by them--but I'm not one of them.

So ethically, when I go on Upwork, I only seek translation jobs FROM French (my second language) INTO English (my home language). I'm a professional, multiply published translator in this language pair but always into English from French.

The Upwork algorithm doesn't allow me  specify this kind of search, however, no matter what I've tried. I've tried searching on the term "French to English." I've tried that plus asking for jobs to be ordered in order of Relevance. And at the suggestion of the Help Desk, I've tried inserting in the search bar this phrase: "title: French to English" which helped some but still turned up results that were patently English to French, which I ethically won't even consider.

OK--go at it! This is my question, and it's my hope that this little bit of awareness-raising on the ethics of translation will help your search designers realize the importance of the order of the words in the search string!

Beth

16 REPLIES 16
jmlaidlaw
Community Member

Also would be nice if the fact that one's skills happen to include "translation" (generally) didn't bring up language pairs completely irrelevant to oneself, such as "Hindustani-to-Mandarin" when one speaks French, English, and a smattering of German and Russian.