🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: "Experts similar to you.." are actually n...
Page options
minder
Community Member

"Experts similar to you.." are actually not that similar

Hi all,

When I received a second Upwork email irrelevant to my skills and job search keywords, it got me wondering if it works (or rather doesn't work) for the rest of freelancers.

A quick example:

I'm an English-Russian-Ukrainian translator working in Translation section, which also includes Language tutoring apart from Localization (my specialization). So when I got the first email offering to check an English teacher job post it was okay. Not relevant at all but okay.

But when I got an email leading to the post where German native translator was needed, it just got me mad.

What is the purpose of these emails at all?

If Upwork is looking to bring me back to check for more jobs, they can just pull my searches and send a compilation of truly relevant jobs.

Would love to hear how this "feature" works for the rest of you guys and, potentially, attract the attention of product managers behind this email.

Cheers 😉

3 REPLIES 3
jr-translation
Community Member

Olya D wrote:

Hi all,

When I received a second Upwork email irrelevant to my skills and job search keywords, it got me wondering if it works (or rather doesn't work) for the rest of freelancers.

A quick example:

I'm an English-Russian-Ukrainian translator working in Translation section, which also includes Language tutoring apart from Localization (my specialization). So when I got the first email offering to check an English teacher job post it was okay. Not relevant at all but okay.

But when I got an email leading to the post where German native translator was needed, it just got me mad.

What is the purpose of these emails at all?

If Upwork is looking to bring me back to check for more jobs, they can just pull my searches and send a compilation of truly relevant jobs.