🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Re: spanish-german translation, 1,5 Euros for...
Page options
julia-planken
Community Member

spanish-german translation, 1,5 Euros for 100 Words, 600 words in 30-40 minutes

Hello Everybody! I am new in up work and I got an offer to translate for 1,5 € / 100 words. The person said that there are around 600-1200 words every day and normally you need to traduce 30-40 minutes.  Please, somebody could tell me what you think about the offer and information?

Thank you very much for helping me. Yours Julia

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
colettelewis
Community Member

@Julia P wrote:

Hello Everybody! I am new in up work and I got an offer to translate for 1,5 € / 100 words. The person said that there are around 600-1200 words every day and normally you need to traduce 30-40 minutes.  Please, somebody could tell me what you think about the offer and information?

Julia,

Payment is not made in euros on Upwork, so 1,5 euros per 100 words doesn't make sense - but it's very low if you convert it to dollars. I wouldn't even spend the time reading to the end of an offer like this. 

Nobody can give a you a ballpark figure on how long a translation can take. It depends on content, subject, how understandable the source language is - there are so many factors. You need to see the work and to figure out how long you think it would take you. However, the amount offered is extremely low. If you were to take one hour to do 1600 words you would be paid about $16.00 (less after Upwork charges, tax and exchange rates) which is quite a lot less than your hourly rate.

People do do translations for this sum, but it is not a realistic amount for anyone living in the West and your client's estimated time is equally unrealistic. From what I have seen on Upwork a better quote would be for $0.04 to $0.05 per word. Experienced translators ask for considerably more.