🐈
» Forums » Clients » Freelancer wants an offer from me before I kn...
Page options
d25adbe4
Community Member

Freelancer wants an offer from me before I know what his flat rate charge will be

Hello,

I'm new to Upwork, and I've been messaging with a freelancer for a book cover. I told him I'd want to know what his fee would be, and messaged him a book synopsis, my idea for a cover, back cover material, description of characters. He says I have to make him an offer, then he accepts it, and we need an Upwork contract before he can do any work. Is this usual, and how do I make him an offer if I have no idea what fee he wants? Also, he doesn't need to do any actual work at this point, just give me a price. As I said, I'm new here, so I don't know my way around. He seems like a good guy with mostly positive reviews.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

re: "Should I be concerned about his high number of jobs in progress? (It seems high to me, but I'm new to all this.)"

He probably is simply not fastidious about closing jobs after work has been done on them.

He isn't actually working on 50 jobs at the same time.

If you hire him and he doesn't do any work on the project, you can simply hire somebody else. With an hourly contract, there is no cost to creating the contract. And you only pay for time worked. No up front fees or payments. So if he does zero work, you pay zero.

Based on my experience with artists, he's not going to start on it and then not finish it. If he starts on it, he'll finish it.

Having said all that, let me point out:
When I have a DEADLINE that I need work completed by, I always hire multiple artists to do the same work. That way if anybody fails to work, or fails to turn in work that I like, I still get what I need from the others.

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "Freelancer wants an offer from me before I know what his flat rate charge will be"