🐈
» Community » Community Blog » Career CloseUp: Expert Upwork Strategy Consul...
Page options
Apr 28, 2023
Career CloseUp: Expert Upwork Strategy Consultant

Hey, my name is Robert O’Kruk, and I guess I just wanted to share a little bit about my Upwork story. So for me, it started when I was 24. I was working in a semi-corporate digital marketing job, I was doing Google advertising work and I've been doing it for a few years and kind of got to a point where I was dreading going into day to day. I really wasn't enjoying my work anymore and so I quit my job, I sold everything that I owned, and I took a one way flight to Bangkok, Thailand. A few months into my travels, I was having the time of my life and I was trying to figure out how could I get some work, like while I was on the go, so I could keep earning and keep traveling, and that's when I found Upwork. And I got on to Upwork and I started doing the same thing I already knew how to do, which was Google ads work at the time. I found that I was making a lot more money than I used to when I was just working locally where I was from. And I also noticed that a part that a lot of people struggled with, which was actually like winning the clients on Upwork, was something that I felt very confident in. And so I started Google ads and then I eventually kind of brought into general digital marketing and Wordpress website development.