🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Please explain why a professional writer woul...
Page options
arendt_laurie
Community Member

Please explain why a professional writer would attend a Jasper seminar

I'm a top earner on Upwork and have worked here regularly for a few years. The number/quality of jobs has rapidly disintegrated in the past year. The pending commission change has made me rethink continuing on this platform.

What has now affirmed my decision to leave at the end of the year? The invitation to attend a Jasper seminar. Why in the world would Upwork invite someone who makes a living as a writer to this? Do you really think this will keep writers here?  

7 REPLIES 7
f53bd8d5
Community Member

I'm new to upwork

hello, can I ask you a favor! How do I make sure a customer has been verified? because i did a service for this gentleman and he has to pay me but before i receive the money i have to send him 90$ for commission.

Thanks 

celgins
Community Member

This gentleman is trying to scam you. If you send the $90 commission, you will never get your money back and you will not be paid for the service you provided.

You did not follow the rules of Upwork by providing the service without an Upwork contract. Use it as a learning lesson and go through the Academy Courses to learn how to use Upwork. After that, go through Top Red Flags for Scams to better prepare yourself by learning how to avoid these types of scams.

If you wish to discuss further, you should start another thread since Laura's post is about Jasper invites.

celgins
Community Member

My initial reaction is that the invite isn't targeted at you or writers; instead, it's a blanket invite sent to millions of freelancers. If it is targeted to you and other writers, it's quite absurd and Upwork has made quite a few similar decisions lately.